Check out “Menards” – Lowes/HD competition

So today was my first trip to a hardware/home improvement store called “Menards”.  They recently opened a store in my area and I must say Home Depot and Lowes have some real competition now.

Menards.com

I’m a hobbyist woodworker and on a budget (like most).  I was impressed by the selection of not only tools like the bandsaw linked here 10″ Masterforce Band Saw at Menards but the hardwoods available.

I don’t have a jointer or planer so I need to be able to get pre-milled woods and they have them.  Everything is individually shrink wrapped and ready to go.  All sides planed, jointed and sanded.  They store all of it indoors so as not to suffer from humidity changes.  Now you will pay a premium for this type of wood however its a big time saver over woods that are only finished on one side and on one corner.  So until I invest in a planer and jointer this will work well for me.

Also they have many different types of furniture grade and cabinet grade plywoods in stock in 2×2, 2×4 and 4×8 sheets.  I’ve been looking for Baltic Birch plywood for making jigs and such; they have it.  I didn’t see any melamine plywood though which is a bummer because that stuff makes for awesome sleds for tablesaw and router tables due to its smooth coating on both sides of the ply.

I would like to know if anyone knows about the quality of the “Masterforce” tools.  I’ve not found a lot of info about them vs. the competition.  I’m shopping for a bench top bandsaw and a drill press.  The press for making mortises and the bandsaw for all sorts of curved cuts where a jigsaw won’t work.

One thought on “Check out “Menards” – Lowes/HD competition

  1. Sorry, I don’t much about Menard’s tool line, but make sure you look at Grizzly. I have their jointer and lathe which have performed well. Good Luck.
    Dave

Leave a Reply

